Blaise Bourgeois

MLS re-name Coach of the Year Award after late Sigi Schmid

Schmid passed away on Christmas Day at the age of 65

Major League Soccer’s winningest coach will be honored in the most fitting way.

Weeks after his passing, MLS has decided to re-name their annual award to the Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year Award.

Schmid managed Los Angeles Galaxy from 1999 to 2004 before returning to MLS with the Columbus Crew in 2006.

The German-born manager then led the Seattle Sounders from 2009 to 2016 before returning to the Galaxy for the 2017 and 2018 seasons.

Schmid won 240 regular-season matches in addition to another 26 post-season games and was named the MLS Coach of the Year award winner twice, in 1999 and in 2008.

Schmid won a whopping five U.S. Open Cup titles, guiding the Los Angeles Galaxy to the title in 2001 before winning four more championships with the Sounders from 2009 to 2011 and in 2014.

In addition, Schmid won two MLS Cup titles – in 1999 with Los Angeles and in 2008 with Columbus.

Schmid also earned three Supporters’ Shield trophies (2002, 2008, 2014) in addition to the CONCACAF Champions’ Cup in 2000.

Before his Major League Soccer success, Schmid led UCLA to three NCAA titles and was named to the U.S. Soccer National Soccer Hall of Fame in 2015.