Dan Burke

Uefa announce 2018 Team of the Year

LaLiga once again dominates European football's best XI of the calendar year

Uefa’s 2018 Team of the Year has been announced and it’s an interesting one.

The XI contains four Real Madrid players, two from Barcelona, two from Chelsea and one each from Liverpool, Juventus and Paris Saint-Germain.

But perhaps controversially, there is no place for the likes of Mohamed Salah, Neymar or Kevin De Bruyne.

You can view the team in full in the reveal video here …

And in case you were wondering who the most picked player was …

The Uefa Team of the Year is voted for by fans and it seems last summer’s World Cup must have had a pretty big influence on many voters’ intentions.

Here’s the team …

Marc-André ter Stegen – Barcelona

Sergio Ramos – Real Madrid
Raphaël Varane – Real Madrid
Virgil van Dijk – Liverpool
Marcelo – Real Madrid

Luka Modrić – Real Madrid
N’Golo Kanté – Chelsea
Eden Hazard – Chelsea

Lionel Messi – Barcelona
Cristiano Ronaldo – Juventus
Kylian Mbappé – PSG

You wouldn’t fancy coming up against that team, even if Ramos has been shunted out to right-back.