Dan Burke

Ajax clinch 34th Eredivisie title and Dutch double delight

Ajax are champions of the Netherlands again following a 4-1 victory over De Graafschap.


Lasse Schöne got the ball rolling in Doetinchem with a stunning free-kick in the 37th minute.

Youssef El Jebli got the hosts back on level terms within three minutes but four minutes later, Ajax were back in front thanks to Nicolás Tagliafico.

Dušan Tadić then made it 3-1 from the penalty spot in the 67th minute before the Serbian midfielder wrapped things up with his 39th goal of the season three minutes from time.

The league title follows Erik ten Hag’s side’s KNVB Beker triumph earlier this month and at the final whistle, the Amsterdam club’s official Twitter account dedicated the victory to Abdelhak Nouri, who collapsed during a pre-season friendly against Werder Bremen in the summer of 2017, suffering serious and permanent brain damage.

The game was Frenkie de Jong’s last for Ajax before he leaves to join Barcelona this summer, and could well also be the last for a number of the club’s players.